Twitter just rolled out very eagerly awaited list feature. Now you can make lists of your friends, family or any specific set of people you would like to see updates from. For sometime I really wanted to control the updates from the people I see on my Twitter page. My Twitter page get full of twitter updates from the people I don’t want to see daily when I login to my account. There was no way before. But with Twitter Lists, it’s very much possible to control (or say arrange for that matter) the updates I see. Let’s see how you can make the twitter lists and use them.
How to make a list?
Once you log-in to your twitter account, you will see announcement of their newly introduced feature – Lists. To create a new list press the “Create a new list” button and a dialogue will pop-up with required fields to be filled for the new list. Give a List name and decide whether to make it public or private by selecting appropriate radio button. Press the “Create List” and you are done. If you have selected the public for your list, your list can be seen by other members as well as search engines. If list is private, only you can access and see updates in it.
How to add people to list?
Suppose you want to make list of your favorite bloggers, on the profile of the person you want to add to list, you can see the “Lists” button. Press that button and you will see the lists you have created already. Check the boxes for which you want that person to appear in that list. Also you can create new list from there only by clicking on “New List”. In addition to this, go to the following page. There you will see the same list button against each person you are following.
How to use lists?
Now you have made lists and added people to them. What next? Suppose you are a blogger and want update from the pro-bloggers like Guy, Techcrunch and others. Make list of them. You will see that list in your homepage. Click on that, and you will see updates from the people in that list only. Anyway I devised a Biggest list of Indian Celebrities on Twitter much before twitter rolled out this feature.
CoreDump: “JUST SHUT UP AND REBOOT!!”